Morricone Youth – New EP Release

Morricone Youth is continuing its two-year venture where the group releases 15 vinyl and digital LPs and EPs featuring their take on live scores of silent era films and midnight movies. Last month they released the 10-track LP “Mad Max” inspired by the 1979 dystopian action film of the same name. Check out the snyth-frenzy opener “Halls of Justice” here:

The LP was released via Country Club Records and features extensive use of an analog keyboard, which was maintained by Joe McGinty (Psychedelic Furs/Loser’s Lounge) at Carousel Vintage Studio, where the LP was captured and engineered by Steve Silverstein (TapeOp). Brian Kantor (The Cardigans’ Nina Persson, Shudder To Think’s Nathan Larson, Higgins and Fruit Bats) joins Morricone youth for this release laying down the drum tracks. Mixed by World Inferno Friendship Society’s Scott Hollingsworth, the LP reflects the movie’s loneliness and at times aggressive tone with a fresh new take.

Morricone Youth previously released “Night of the Living Dead” and “The Adventures of Prince Achmed”  in their series of 15 LPs and EPs based on classic films. “Mad Max” is the third release, and we can’t wait to see what’s next in store for this ongoing series.

“Mad Max” is available digitally and as part of a high quality limited edition vinyl pressing of 500 on transparent coke bottle clear green vinyl. Be sure to stay up to date with all things Morricone Youth on Soundcloud, Twitter, Facebook, and its official website.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s